Ameren’s Thanks-for-Giving Parade


2023 Ameren’s Thanks for Giving Parade Application

Celebrating its 39th year, the 2023 Ameren Thanks-For-Giving Parade will step off at 9:00 am on Thursday, November 23, 2023.

This year, parade goers can expect over 120 parade units, including musical floats and displays, dance groups, drumlines, and marching bands from around the St. Louis region. As always, Santa Claus will be present to wish everyone a Happy Holiday Season at the conclusion of the parade.

Float Application

Join us for the 2023 Ameren Thanks-for-Giving Parade. Register your Float, Motorized Unit, Marching Band, and More by applying here.


Click here to download the 2023 Parade Route.

Thanks for Giving

Help the St. Louis Area Foodbank provide healthy and nutritious meals to thousands of families across the bi-state region this year by making an online donation. A community challenge grant made by Ameren runs through 11/26/23 so all gifts up to $200,000 will be DOUBLED!

You can donate by going online to:

Thanks for Giving and making a difference in the lives of local families this holiday season.

2023 Marching Bands

As part of the annual Ameren’s Thanks for Giving Parade, marching bands will be judged on music performance, marching and general effect.  Trophies for the top five bands will be awarded to the winners.  In addition, a trophy will be awarded to the Outstanding Percussion Section, Outstanding Drum Major and Outstanding Guard Unit. Come cheer them on!

Participating Bands in the 2023 Parade:

  • Alton High School
  • Jacksonville Drumline Institute
  • John Ford Highland Pipe Band
  • Lindenwood University
  • Mehlville High School
  • Ritenour High School
  • Northwest High School

2023 Honorary Grand Marshals

BJ “The DJ” Holiday from iHeartMedia from MAJIC, 100.3 The Beat, and Hallelujah 1600

Past Honorary Grand Marshals

Nikki Glaser (2022)
Dr. Art McCoy, (2021)
Meredith Knopp, President and CEO of St. Louis Area Foodbank (2020)
Flint Fowler of Boys and Girls Clubs (2019)
Dr. Frances Levine, President and CEO of the Missouri Historical Society. (2018)
Bobby Plager – St. Louis Blues (2017)
Michael M. Ward of the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial (2017)
Timothy Good of the Ulysses S. Grant National Historic Site (2017)
Mr. and Mrs. Tom Voss (2015)
Mr. and Mrs. Tom Voss (2014)
Mary Engelbreit (2013)
Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Jeffrey Bonner (2012)
Harlem Globetrotters, Girl Scouts of America and Vincent Bommarito (2011)
Ernie Hays (2010)
Mike Shannon, Boys Scouts of America (2009)
Major Robert Behnken, NASA (2008)
Marjorie Failoni, Disney’s High School Musical (2007)
Major General Jack Waggoner, US Army (2006)
Taylor Twellman, Nikko Smith, Nancy Kerrigan (2005)